Scream Queen Stream

Scream Queen Stream
Click for the latest SCREAM QUEEN STREAM with Jessica Cameron and Heather Dorff

Thisfunktional Magazine

Previously Unreleased Diana Ross Album, Sings Songs From 'The Wiz,' Out Now

10:32 PM

Rare 1978 recording features Ross singing every role from 
the classic movie musical, including songs by Charles Smalls, Quincy Jones, Ashford & Simpson and Luther Vandross

After 37 years, Diana Ross Sings Songs From "The Wiz" is getting its release digitally on Nov. 27 through Motown/ Universal Music Enterprises in time for a revival of the original stage musical, which aired live on primetime on NBC on Dec. 3, features chart-topping music superstars Mary J. Blige, Queen Latifah, Ne Yo and Common, Orange Is The New Black's Uzo Aduba, Glee's Amber Riley, and newcomer Shanice Williams as Dorothy.

Diana Ross Sings Songs from "The Wiz" was originally scheduled for release on Motown Records in January 1979, after the film version of the hit Broadway musical premiered in October 1978.

After filming, Ross had entered the studio in Los Angeles at the request of Motown, which commissioned producer/arranger Lee Holdridge to record her singing cover versions of the songs from "The Wiz," assuming all the roles, delivering what we now can hear as a tour-de-force performance.

Recreating not only her part as the naive Dorothy on the smash "Ease on Down the Road," which she performed as a duet with a young Michael Jackson in the film, the signature "Is This What Feeling Gets?" and the Luther Vandross-penned show-stopper, "A Brand New Day (Everybody Rejoice)," Ross also took on the goofy Scarecrow ("You Can't Win"), the yearning Tin Man ("Slide Some Oil To Me"), the tough, but tender-hearted Lion ("[I'm a Mean] Old Lion"), the endearing mother figure Aunt Em ("The Feeling We Once Had"), the eccentric Wiz ("So You Wanted To Meet the Wizard"), the Evil Witch ("Don't Nobody Bring Me No Bad News") and the heroic Good Witch ("Believe In Yourself").
"We literally ran into the studio in a great hurry to do this," Holdridge said, who had previously worked with Ross handling orchestrations and arrangements for the feature film Mahogany, and co-produced the album with Suzanne dePasse and Ross. "We knew all the keys and stuff like that, so we tried to emulate what some of the film tracks were like. Diana was excited about it."
It had been a long-standing dream for Diana Ross to play Dorothy, and singing all the songs for this album was a tribute to her versatility as a vocalist.

Her emotion can be felt on two ballads that didn't make the movie's final cut, including "Wonder Wonder Why," written for the original stage show, but deleted before opening, and Ashford & Simpson's "Is This What Feeling Gets?," with music from Quincy Jones, which was recorded for and included in the film soundtrack, but deleted from the movie itself.

Until the belated release of Diana Ross Sings Songs from "The Wiz," the only track that had been available was "Home," as part of her 2001 Motown Anthology compilation.

That song remained a staple of Miss Ross' stage show for years, along with, for a short while, a truncated performance of the album in which she played all the parts, just as she does on this long-unavailable release.

Ross' solo take on the project was intended to complement the Original Motion Picture Soundtrack of The Wiz, which was produced by Quincy Jones and Ashford & Simpson.

The soundtrack was a commercial success reaching gold status in the US and spawning the top 40 single, "Ease On Down The Road" featuring Diana Ross and a 20-year-old Michael Jackson.

Additionally, NBC's musical television production of The Wiz Live! is coming to DVD on Dec. 22 from Universal Pictures Home Entertainment, just in time for the holidays.

Track listing for Diana Ross Sings Songs from The Wiz:

  1. The Feeling We Once Had
  2. He's The Wizard
  3. Soon As I Get Home
  4. Trio Medley: You Can't Win / Slide Some Oil To Me / (I'm A) Mean Ole Lion
  5. Ease On Down The Road
  6. Be A Lion
  7. So You Wanted To Meet The Wizard
  8. Is This What Feeling Gets? (Dorothy's Theme)
  9. Don't Nobody Bring Me No Bad News
  10. Wonder Wonder Why
  11. A Brand New Day (Everybody Rejoice)
  12. Believe In Yourself
  13. Home

You Might Also Like


Events of the Week