Scream Queen Stream

Scream Queen Stream
Click for the latest SCREAM QUEEN STREAM with Jessica Cameron and Heather Dorff

Thisfunktional Magazine

L.A. Kings High School Hockey League crowns champion, names award winners

9:03 PM

The Los Angeles Kings High School Hockey League (LAKHSHL) March 19 crowned their inaugural champion and announced the individual awards winners for the 2015-16 campaign which ended on March 19.

On STAPLES Center ice this afternoon, the Greater Santa Barbara Royals topped the Kern County Knights, 4-0, and were crowned League Champions.  

The win capped off a near perfect record for the Royals who finished 15-0-0-1 in LAKHSHL action.

Both teams advanced to the Championship Game last weekend when the Kern County Knights won, 6-3, against the West Ranch Wildcats, and the Greater Santa Barbara Royals bested the South County Aviators, 8-0.

Also announced today are individual award winners as follows:
Wayne Gretzky MVP: Jack Johnson – San Marcos High School
Luc Robitaille Freshman: Tristan Warr – West Ranch High School
Rob Blake Defenseman: Paul Daley – Liberty High School
Rogie Vachon Goalie: Will Hahn – Santa Barbara High School
Dave Taylor Leader/Sportsmanship: Chris Ewasiuk – San Marcos High School
Marcel Dionne Scoring Leader: Tristan Warr – West Ranch High School
Darryl Sutter Coach of the Year: Steve Heinze – Santa Barbara High School

Final League Standings: (W, L, OTW, OTL)
SB Royals 15-0-0-1
Knights 11-5-0-0
West Ranch 11-4-0-0
South County 6-6-2-1
East County 5-8-1-1
Strikers 5-9-0-1
SGV Cougars 2-10-2-1
Santa Clarita 0-13-1-1

Operating in its first year in 2015-16, the LA Kings High School Hockey League is comprised of eight teams mostly located in the San Fernando/San Gabriel Valley areas all the way up to Santa Barbara and Bakersfield.  The League is designed to continue the growth of ice hockey in Southern California and directly connect the sport to local communities and high schools.  Expansion of the league is planned to more schools and communities for 2016-17 and beyond.  Jim Fox serves as Commissioner.

For all LAKHSHL information, visit

You Might Also Like


Events of the Week