Click Here

Team Europe Names Final Roster for World Cup of Hockey 2016

10:38 PM

Seven Players Added, Fulfilling Roster Requirement 
of 20 Skaters, 3 Goaltenders

The Team Europe management group, led by General Manager Miroslav Satan, announced its final, 23-man roster for the World Cup of Hockey 2016, the best-on-best international hockey championship from Sept. 17 to Oct. 1, 2016, in Toronto.

Team Europe will feature a pan-European roster of players from birth countries outside of the Czech Republic, Finland, Russia and Sweden.

Seven players were added on May 27, highlighted below. 
They join the 16 selected to the team on March 2.
Representing Team Europe at the World Cup of Hockey 2016 are:

G Frederik Andersen, Anaheim Ducks (Denmark)
G Thomas Greiss, New York Islanders (Germany) *
G Jaroslav Halak, New York Islanders (Slovakia)

D Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins (Slovakia)
D Christian Ehrhoff, Chicago Blackhawks (Germany) *
D Roman Josi, Nashville Predators (Switzerland)
D Luca Sbisa, Vancouver Canucks (Switzerland) *
D Dennis Seidenberg, Boston Bruins (Germany)
D Andrej Sekera, Edmonton Oilers (Slovakia)
D Mark Streit, Philadelphia Flyers (Switzerland)

F Pierre-Edouard Bellemare, Philadelphia Flyers (France) *
F Mikkel Boedker, Colorado Avalanche (Denmark)
F Leon Draisaitl, Edmonton Oilers (Germany)
F Marian Gaborik, Los Angeles Kings (Slovakia) *
F Jannik Hansen, Vancouver Canucks (Denmark)
F Marian Hossa, Chicago Blackhawks (Slovakia)
F Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings (Slovenia)
F Nino Niederreiter, Minnesota Wild (Switzerland) *
F Frans Nielsen, New York Islanders (Denmark)
F Tobias Rieder, Arizona Coyotes (Germany) *
F Tomas Tatar, Detroit Red Wings (Slovakia)
F Thomas Vanek, Minnesota Wild (Austria)
F Mats Zuccarello, New York Rangers (Norway)

* named to roster today

Eight teams -- Team Canada, Team Czech Republic, Team Europe, Team Finland, Team North America, Team Russia, Team Sweden and Team USA -- will compete in the two-week tournament, featuring more than 150 of the best players in the NHL. 
All tournament games will be played at Air Canada Centre in Toronto, home of the NHL Toronto Maple Leafs.
All eight teams competing in the World Cup of Hockey 2016 are announcing their complete, 23-man rosters (20 skaters and three goaltenders) on May 27. 
The World Cup of Hockey 2016 is a joint effort of the National Hockey League and the National Hockey League Players’ Association, in cooperation with the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF). 
The eight teams are split into two Groups, Group A and Group B, for the Preliminary Round (Sept. 17-22), when each team will play its three Group opponents in a round-robin format. 
Placed in Group A are Team Canada, Team Czech Republic and Team USA, plus Team Europe, a pan-European roster of players from birth countries outside of the Czech Republic, Finland, Russia and Sweden. 
The four teams in Group B are Team Finland, Team Russia, Team Sweden and Team North America, a selection of the top players from Canada and the United States who are 23 or under as of Oct. 1.

The top two finishers in each of Group A and Group B will advance to the Semifinals (Sept. 24-25), where each qualifier will face an elimination game against a team from the other Group. 
The two Semifinal winners will meet in the Final, a best-of-three series on Sept. 27, Sept. 29 and, if necessary, Oct. 1.

Official fan travel and hospitality packages for the tournament are available from PrimeSport, the Official Fan Travel and Hospitality Package Partner of the World Cup of Hockey 2016. 
Visit for more information.

For more information on the World Cup of Hockey 2016, visit

You Might Also Like


Scream Queen Stream

Scream Queen Stream
Click for the latest SCREAM QUEEN STREAM with Jessica Cameron and Heather Dorff

Events of the Week