Catey Shaw releases acoustic LOVESICK JERK via Pancakes and Whiskey

10:41 PM

Watch now, HERE via Pancakes and Whiskey

Pop artist Catey Shaw has premiered an acoustic take on her summer single "Lovesick Jerk" on Sept. 2. 

Fans can watch the stripped down visuals HERE via Pancakes and Whiskey. 

Shaw's genre bending sound has led to features in Billboard, Nylon, TIME, Complex and more, plus a performance on CBS's The Queen Latifah Show in 2013.
Shaw told Pancakes and Whiskey, "The great thing about recording an acoustic version of a song is the way that it breaks it down to bare bones - no production tricks or anything just the song." 
Shaw said, "Lovesick Jerk" was a great candidate for that because the fun presentation of it doesn't necessarily lend to the harsh content, so it's nice to kind of isolate that sentiment." 
This track comes from Shaw's new EP, The Ransom, released earlier this year. 

The full project is available via iTunes here:
"You meet someone, you fall in love with their ways, their confidence, their humor," Shaw said. "Then a few months in they're a total sap and they're riding your ass about not loving them enough all the time. It's exhausting." Drawing on personal ups and downs in love, Shaw brings honesty and emotion to every track. "Catey's new music seems to follow the pattern of breaking hearts and taking names, complete with an '80s beat." (Inked Magazine) Tracks from Shaw's upcoming summer EP already have the blogosphere buzzing. PopCrushcalled her end-of-summer single, "Walks All Over You" "upbeat, audacious, and a complete earworm."
"Catey Shaw does a lot of things right," Out Magazine said, "Her songwriting is poppy but incisive, her voice is downright mellifluous." Shaw's forthcoming EP follows her 2014 release, The Brooklyn EP, praised by The Huffington Post who remarked, "Shaw's release proves she's not a hipster gimmick, but an artist to be taken seriously."Perez Hilton commented that with her previous release "she officially cements herself as the Lily Allen for a younger generation."
The Ransom EP is the third release from Catey Shaw following 2013's Clouds and 2014's "The Brooklyn" EP. 

For more information, please visit:

The Ransom Track Listing:
  1. Walks All Over You
  2. Tell Everyone
  3. The Ransom
  4. Lovesick Jerk
  5. I'd Be Laughing
For more information, please visit:

You Might Also Like


Scream Queen Stream

Scream Queen Stream
Click for the latest SCREAM QUEEN STREAM with Jessica Cameron and Heather Dorff

Events of the Week