LETTERS TO NO ONE: A Creative Writing Blog Series

LETTERS TO NO ONE: A Creative Writing Blog Series
Click Here

Podcast: LETS TALK...With ThisFunktional

Mar 4, 2018

Jim Kelly Receives 2018 Vince Lombardi Award of Excellence Days After Announcing Cancer has Returned

NFL Hall of Famer, Jim Kelly, recognized by the Vince Lombardi Cancer Foundation at the 28th Annual Vince Lombardi Award of Excellence Dinner Ball

The Vince Lombardi Cancer Foundation awarded Jim Kelly the 28th Annual Vince Lombardi Award of Excellence. 

Kelly, an NFL Hall of Fame Inductee and two-time cancer survivor, recently announced that his cancer has returned. 

The Vince Lombardi Award of Excellence recognizes Kelly for his continued strength and excellence both on and off the field.

Kelly was selected in the first round of the 1983 NFL draft. He played for the Buffalo Bills all of his eleven seasons in the NFL and was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2002. His jersey is one of two numbers retired by the Bills.

In June 2013, Kelly was first diagnosed with squamous cell carcinoma in his upper jaw. He underwent successful surgery. 

After a follow- up appointment in March 2014, he announced that his cancer had recurred and began radiation and chemotherapy treatment. 

In August of that year, doctors indicated that they no longer could find evidence of cancer. 

However, just days ago Kelly announced that the cancer has once again returned, but he remains 'Kelly Tough' as he continues on this difficult journey.

Former and current NFL players Frank Reich, Lynn Dickey, Brett Farve, Dan Marino, JJ Watt, Carson Wentz, Mason Crosby, Chris Berman, Joe Montana, Morten Andersen and James Lofton showed their support through a video that was shown at the event.

The Vince Lombardi Award of Excellence Dinner Ball was created to recognize individuals who capture the spirit of commitment and pursuit of excellence; standards which define the legendary coach Vince Lombardi and the Vince Lombardi Cancer Foundation. Past recipients include:

2017-Barry Alvarez         
2008- Willie Davis 

1997- Bart Starr    
2016- Bud Selig               
2007- Mario Andretti 

1996- General H. 
2015- Bob Uecker             
2006- Mia Hamm 

Norman Schwarzkopf
2014- Robin Yount             
2005- Cal Ripken, Jr. 

1995- Dan Jansen
2013- Andy North            
2004- Mark Johnson

1994- Jane and Lloyd 
2012- David Robinson    
2003- Peggy Fleming

2011- Green Bay  
2002- Hank Aaron

1993- President George 
Packers Super Bowl  
2001- Jack Nicklaus

H. W. Bush
Championship Team   
2000- John Wooden

1992- Bob Hope
2010- Mike Ditka    
1999- Don Shula

1991- Pete Rozelle
2009- Roger Staubach      
1998- Eddie Robinson

No comments:
Write comments

Events of the Week