State of Sea Releases Debut EP ILLUSIONS Out April 5

The Danish-American band beautifully combines the Nordic sound with traditional American songwriting for a new, unique sound that dreams up a journey

The Danish-American musical collaboration State of Sea released their debut EP "Illusions" on April 5. 

The EP was released independently and is available on iTunes, Google Play, Spotify, Amazon and more. 

State of Sea is Danish-American group composed of three music veterans: James Craft, Anna Roemer and Anna Scharling. 

The trio has combined the Nordic sound with traditional American songwriting and draws from electronica and folk to create State of Sea’s unique, ambient sound. 

"Illusions" stands out with guitar, piano, vocals, strings, percussion and touches of synthesizer. 

State of Sea’s name references the most secretive place on earth: the sea. 

The EP was inspired from group’s fantasies of Edward Snowden’s experience while fleeing to Russia. The musical collaboration has imagined both a musical and creative journey of traveling between borders and into new, sonic landscapes.

James Craft is a composer, teacher, and songwriter in Los Angeles. As a songwriter and lead vocalist, Craft fronted the band La Strada in NY, which cut three albums and toured the US and Canada. 

Anna Roemer is a guitarist, composer and producer based in Copenhagen, Denmark. She has played showcases at TMW (Estonia) and SPOT (Denmark) 2016. Roemer studied composition at UofT, Toronto with pianist David Braid and finished her master in composition at SDMK, Odense. 

Anna Scharling is a Danish singer and songwriter and also performs as a solo artist. In 2015, she released an EP with her own singer/songwriter project, and she has performed at showcases such as Tallinn Music Week and SPOT Festival. In 2017 she released her debut album Sleeping at the Gates and is otherwise performing and writing for the Danish experimental pop group, EKSIL.

ILLUSIONS Tracklisting:
  1. Illusion
  2. Eyes Wide Open
  3. Dawn Over Iceland
  4. In A Hotel Room In Moscow
  5. Young
  6. Illusion II