Suicideyear Shares New Album COLOR THE WEATHER



"Color the Weather" Out Now on LuckyMe

Suicideyear is proud to release his new album "Color The Weather" on LuckyMe Records (home of TNGHT, Baauer, Jacques Greene and more.)

James Prudhomme AKA Suicideyear is a bit of an anomaly equally splitting his time between all night, smoked out studio sessions with the likes of recent collaborators Little Pain, Lil Ugly Mane and Yung Lean as he is playing at Berlin's peerless Berghain Club and recording for Oneohtrix Point Never's Software label. 

The music on "Color The Weather" reflects this - the 808 weight of his local rap influences with the delicate and intimate flourishes of ambience and beauty both vocal and textural make "Color the Weather" a development from his previous beat based material whilst still containing all the hallmarks that have been present on his earlier work. 

It’s a cliche to suggest but the album is best enjoyed as one continuous piece

Featuring collaborations with Georgia (Domino Recordings) and upcoming Canadian talent Casey MQ. All the artwork for the record is by Ezra Miller and Mikey Joyce.

Which paint in the set is exactly the shade of a cumulus cloud? Or more exactly: of all the fronts that sweep over the wide gulf of adolescence, how many of them collide, violent at first, to later produce a sunshower?

James Prudhomme, AKA Suicideyear, obliquely pondered these questions in the years spent making his first proper full-length, titled "Color the Weather," which is out today on LuckyMe. 

Its namesake - a coloring competition for children run by regional TV station WFAB in his native Baton Rouge, Louisiana - he felt a fitting eponym for the project, giving local kids a blank piece of paper to channel their worlds into sideways swatches of indigo and grey, devoid of lines to stay within.
While channeling the album’s themes of youthful introspection and make-believe, "Color the Weather" also reflects the paradoxical rootedness of Suicideyear’s signature but ever-expanding sound - it’s undeniably informed by the hyper-locality of Louisiana, where Prudhomme has resided all his life and sonically osmosed the thunderous kicks and snaking hi-hats of the parish soundtrack. 

Yet the vivid imagination and skyward gaze of the young know no limit; he sought to escape turbulent teenage years by playing around with production software and riding borderless waves of electronic music online, squeezing faraway color onto his primary palette. 

The result is a geographic transcendence, or at least as close to it as one can get while surfing couches in Baton Rouge. 

In the years that followed he caught the attention of other musical pilgrims, including Oneohtrix Point Never (whose now-defunct Software label played host to Suicideyear’s early output) and more recently the folks at LuckyMe, who signed him a year back with his debut already in the works.

The album, while not technically his first full-length project, represents the first time he’s set about creating a body of work, Prudhomme said it’s the first time he’s made "songs with narrative" rather than evocative beats. 
Prudhomme says, "The song to me represents the easiness and will to relive memory, stay stuck in the past and to ignore the actual ways to move on and progress. The second half of the song acts like a turning point of this behavior going from indulgent to unhealthy. It was also the first song I tracked all real instruments."
Elsewhere, he taps Red Bull Music Academy classmate Casey MQ (for vocals on "Said & Done," piano on "Color the Weather (Outro)" and additional production on "Tired"), longtime friend and collaborator Outthepound AKA Chris Burrell (sampled on "Days Won’t End") and LA-based singer-songwriter John Keek (for additional production on "Momma"). 

By no coincidence his ascent has involved a fair share of collaborating - most recently teaming up with Yung Lean for single “Spider Feet” - and on Color the Weather he does so in broader strokes.

Whereas making in years past always involved a variation of “laying on a bed with FL Studio open,” Prudhomme’s process matured this go-round; entering formal studio spaces and bringing other people into the writing process brings a versatility to the project which gives it more range than ever heard from Suicideyear. 

Opener "Seven Year Dream" was the first of the songs to take full shape and will be uncannily recognizable to fans he’s recruited along the way, while "Little Palace Hidden Heaven" serves as an interlude in shade if not by name, one of three episodic divergences in which the producer confidently, if quietly, lets his memories stray. 

Like most tracks on the record, both came about by recalling a specific experience or feeling attached to a fleeting childhood home. 

Those sort of things are ephemeral yet forever. On Color the Weather, Suicideyear endeavors for his work to be too.

Suicideyear is a young Baton Rouge-based producer, drawing from the electronic/rap subgenre of trap and offering his own spin. His tracks possess tones and melodies that suggest tension, danger, and, ultimately, melancholy.

Suicideyear will also be on a 8-date North American tour in this month. 

For a full list of dates and to purchase tickets head to

Pre-Order Color The Weather:

Suicideyear – Color The Weather
  1. 7 Year Dream
  2. Tired
  3. Momma
  4. Days Won’t End
  5. Days Forever ft. Georgia
  6. Kept Distance
  7. Little Palace Hidden Heaven
  8. Said and Done ft. Casey MQ
  9. Interlude
  10. Path
  11. Color The Weather (Outro)