Revolver premieres A SENSE OF REST from Seattle post-hardcore/noise rock trio Great Falls featuring former members of Undertow, Kiss It Goodbye, Playing Enemy, Jesu

Jesus Figueroa
Record To Drop December 21 Via Corpse Flower

"A Sense Of Rest" is the impending new full-length from Seattle-based post-hardcore/noise rock trio GREAT FALLS, featuring within its ranks former members of Undertow, Nineironspitfire, Kiss It Goodbye, Playing Enemy and Jesu. 

Set for release December 21 via Corpse Flower Records, A Sense Of Rest thrusts forth eight psalms of restless energy centered on death, family, art, and immortality.

On the eve of its release, Revolver is offering up an exclusive full stream of the record noting, "Though expectations of adventurous, imposing hardcore feats with tinges of metal are to be expected, it's also the sort of band that defies conventional wisdom of what hardcore can accomplish, venturing into post-metal-isms and sludgy slash and burn. It's the sort of band that's a calling card for the in the know, and if there is justice in this world A Sense of Rest will rock on loop and teach these young whipper-snappers a thing or two."

Hear "A Sense Of Rest" only at Revolver.

GREAT FALLS' "A Sense Of Rest" was recorded and mixed by Scott Evans (Kowloon Walled City, Forn, Ghoul, Minsk) at Red Room in Seattle and Antisleep Audio in Oakland with additional recording by Tad Doyle (Tad, Hog Molly, Brothers Of The Sonic Cloth) at Witch Ape Studios in Seattle, mastered by Carl Saff (Fu Manchu, Rosetta, KEN mode, Child Bite) at Saff Mastering in Chicago, and comes shrouded in the engrossing artwork of alternative comics illustrator Farel Dalrymple.

The record will be released digitally and on limited edition 2xLP December 21st in the US via Corpse Flower Records. 

The LP will be available in three color variants: smoke, white with green and grey splatter and standard black with Throatruiner handling the European release.

For "A Sense Of Rest" preorders visit Corpse Flower Bandcamp.

Illustrator, designer, musician, instructor, and letterpress printer Demian Johnston spent his formative years playing bass in legendary hardcore band Undertow before moving to guitar to form Nineironspitfire and later join hardcore icons Kiss It Goodbye. 

When Kiss It Goodbye disbanded, three-fourths of the band resurrected Playing Enemy, with Johnston additionally taking on vocal duties. 

In 2001, Shane Mehling joined on bass. By 2006, the band had run its course and Mehling and Johnston spent a few years pursuing more experimental noise in a project called Hemingway. 

Four years later, Hemingway changed its name to GREAT FALLS, recruiting Phil Petrocelli, who had previously played with outfits such as Jesu and Jarboe, on drums.

GREAT FALLS' debut full-length, Accidents Grotesque, was released in 2013 by Irish label Hell Comes Home, followed by The Fever Shed, release in 2015 via Init Records. 

Post a Comment


Post a Comment (0)

#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(20)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Check Now
Accept !