First look at Ava DuVernay's WHEN THEY SEE US reframes the Central Park Five

Based on a true story that gripped the country, "When They See Us" chronicles the notorious case of five teenagers of color, labeled the Central Park Five, who were convicted of a crime they did not commit.

Spanning 25 years, this eye-opening four-part series follows the five teenagers who, in the spring of 1989, were first questioned about the rape of a white female jogger, and not until 2002 were exonerated before a settlement was reached with the city of New York in 2014.
Academy Award® nominee and two-time Emmy Award®winner Ava DuVernay commented on the meaning behind the title — and its importance — said:
"In 2019, our series gives the five men a platform to finally raise their voices and tell their full stories. In doing so, Korey, Antron, Raymond, Kevin and Yusef also tell the story of many young people of color unjustly ensnared in the criminal justice system. We wanted to reflect this perspective in our title, embracing the humanity of the men and not their politicized moniker."
With that key mission at heart, it’s the goal of Participant, in partnership with Array Now and Netflix, to create real change inspired by the series and to focus on the issues of criminal justice reform. Stay tuned here for ways to get involved.

"When They See Us" was created by Ava DuVernay, who also co-wrote and directed the series.

Jeff Skoll and Jonathan King from Participant Media; Oprah Winfrey from Harpo Films; and Jane Rosenthal, Berry Welsh and Robert De Niro from Tribeca Productions will executive produce the limited series alongside DuVernay through her banner, Forward Movement.

In addition to DuVernay, Attica Locke, Robin Swicord and Michael Starrbury also serve as writers on the project.

The series stars Emmy Award® nominee Michael Kenneth Williams, Academy Award® nominee Vera Farmiga, Emmy Award® winner John Leguizamo, Academy Award® nominee and Emmy Award® winner Felicity Huffman, Emmy Award®nominee Niecy Nash, Emmy Award® winner and two-time Golden Globe® nominee Blair Underwood, Emmy Award® and Grammy Award® winner and Tony Award® nominee Christopher Jackson, Joshua Jackson, Omar J. Dorsey, Adepero Oduye, Famke Janssen, Aurora Perrineau, William Sadler, Jharrel Jerome, Jovan Adepo, Aunjanue Ellis, Kylie Bunbury, Marsha Stephanie Blake, Storm Reid, Chris Chalk, Freddy Miyares, Justin Cunningham, Ethan Herisse, Caleel Harris, Marquis Rodriguez and Asante Blackk.

Streaming On Netflix May 31