#DancesWithFilms2019: Dances with Films announces 2019 lineup


The Story of Dances with Films Continues to Unfold at 22 Years with Another Chapter of Fiercely Independent Films

The storied festival continues now for over two decades as a champion of independent filmmakers. The Festival will reign once again over the TCL Chinese Theaters June 13-23 with more than 100 world premieres and nearly 40 west coast premieres as they announce the selections for its 22nd annual slate.

Dances With Films (DWF), the vibrantly independent film festival announced its 2019 lineup of narrative and documentary features and short films for its 22nd annual edition.

Opening the festival on June 13 is the drama written and directed by Michael Worth, "APPLE SEED" starring the late Rance Howard along with Esther Anderson, Clint Howard, Adrienne Barbeau, Michael Worth and Robby Benson.

"ADOLESCENCE," directed by Ashley Avis (director of upcoming film, Black Beauty) and starring Mickey River, India Eisley, Romeo Miller, Michael Milford, Elisabeth Rohm, Tommy Flanagan, Jere Burns, John Driskell Hopkins, closes the festival with its world premiere on June 23.

Tickets and passes will be available for sale thru the festival’s own site: danceswithfilms.com.

A complete listing of additional films and screenings will be populating the festival's website over the next week.

The festival has continued to thrive and progress after 22 consecutive years, it is widely recognized as the premiere showcase of innovative independent cinema in the U.S., presenting amazing, undiscovered talent to an industry audience in Hollywood.

DWF will run June 13-23, 2019 in Los Angeles, CA at the TCL Chinese Theaters, located at: Hollywood & Highland, 6801 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, CA 90028.
“Everyone has a story, the possibilities are limitless, no boundaries to achieve or succeed, no boundaries in storytelling, there is no end in this chapter,” festival co-founders Leslee Scallon and Michael Trent said. “We have always been about no politics, no sh*t, no stars. That’s our story and we’re sticking to it! This has been our slogan since 1998.”
The opening night DWF green carpet festivities and industry mixer will be held June 13 at the famous, Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel located at 7000 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, CA 90028.

The final lineup will feature more than 200 titles, chosen from a record 3,700 submissions from all over the globe including 11 countries.

The juried narrative competition section includes 16 features and more than three-dozen shorts. 

DWF also has a category for groundbreaking short and feature documentaries, provocative genre fare in the Midnight section, and the most exciting music videos and dance-themed films from the indie scene in the Downbeats section.

The Fusion section brings together a multitude of additional features and shorts.

There are a significant amount of films and shorts represented by women this year, with nearly 40% of documentaries directed and written by women.

About Dances With Films
In 1998 DWF began as a film festival dedicated to finding tomorrow’s talent today and continues to carry on this mission today. With many World and West Coast Premieres, DWF provides a coveted first stop on the festival circuit. With a vast number of submissions, the selection process is based solely on merit and discoverability. DWF continues its dedication to and is a devoted champion of fresh and creative voices, mandating that all competitive films have no known actors, writers, directors, or producers. For the past 20 years, DWF has proudly provided access and opportunity to thousands of films and filmmakers from across the globe that diligently work year after year to see their dreams realized. With more than 12,000+ festival attendees and 2.5 million impressions per month on danceswithfilms.com, DWF is loyal and dedicated to the indie filmmaker and is considered their champion in Hollywood.

DWF’s Advisory Board includes: Steve Tisch, Cindy Cowan, Jonathan Dana, Steve Elzer, Kevin Kasha, Eriq La Salle, Michael Lehmann, Mike Macari, Valerie McCaffrey, Mark V. Olsen, Joel Ordesky, Mark Ordesky, Melissa Orlen, Will Scheffer, Hilton Smith, David Spiegelman, and Steve Wegner.