Avant-progressive rockers Doctor Nerve release new EP LOUD

Avant garde progressive rock band DOCTOR NERVE has released its heaviest and most hard-hitting release to date in the form of a new four-song EP entitled “LOUD.”

Mixed by Nik Chinboukas (Testament, Metal Allegiance) and mastered for maximum impact by Thomas Dimuzio, “LOUD” is as aggressive as it is intricate.

”LOUD” features a whopping 11 bonus tracks made up of alternate versions of the EP’s four original tunes, featuring guest appearances by Mike Keneally, Henry Kaiser, Robert Musso, Kevin Hufnagel (Dysrhythmia), René Lussier, Andrew Hawkins (Baring Teeth), Matt Hollenberg (Cleric, John Zorn) and Shawn Persinger is Prester John.

A freaky video for the song “If You Were Me Right Now I'd Be Dead,” which debuted last month via Metal Injection, was filmed half speed backwards and flipped to sync with the track.

The site also gave listeners a taste of “LOUD” through the song “Painting with Bullets,” featuring a guitar solo by Mike Keneally.

LOUD track listing:
  1. If You Were Me Right Now I'd Be Dead
  2. Painting With Bullets
  3. Meta 04
  4. Uses Probe Form
Adorned with explosive cover art by “violent artist” Masato Okano, “LOUD” is available in a variety of editions, including CD, streaming, 12” limited edition vinyl, spinning at a mind-numbing 45 rpm, and a Deluxe Package featuring hand-numbered, autographed, heavyweight colored vinyl + CD + download, with poster by Masato Okano and insert art autographed by Tom Marsan. LOUD is available at punosmusic.com/doctornerve/loud.

DOCTOR NERVE has been annihilating the boundaries between rock, metal, improvisation, jazz and experimental music since 1983.

Emerging out of the downtown NYC/Knitting Factory scene, the band evolved quickly from a punky electric jazz hybrid into a completely original, quirky, progressive ensemble.

Led by guitarist Nick Didkovsky (Vomit Fist, Fred Frith, Alice Cooper), DOCTOR NERVE features some of the hottest musicians on the NYC scene.

Leo Ciesa – drums 
Nick Didkovsky - electric guitar, composition 
Yves Duboin - soprano sax
Rob Henke - trumpet
Benjamin Herrington – trombone 
Jesse Krakow - electric bass 
Michael Lytle - bass clarinet 
Kathleen Supové – piano